What I Have Learned In College [And What I Plan to Do About It]

It has been quite a while since I have written anything on this blog, mainly because I have felt that I do not have anything especially awesome to write about. However, my former and future roomie Kyle has told me I should write about what I have learned the past 2 years in college (some advice) and what I hope to make different in the next two years. So, without further ado, here they are (kinda chronologically I guess):

1. Don’t leave a younger boyfriend or girlfriend behind when you go to college

There are always exceptions to this rule, but your freshman year is all about meeting new people, cultivating new friendships, going and doing crazy fun stuff because you are in COLLEGE now. If you feel like a girlfriend or boyfriend at home will hold you back at all, there are plenty of other people you will meet.

2. Find a good group of people to go to church with

It is hard enough to motivate yourself to go to church every Sunday, because if you’ve grown up going to church all your life Mom is not there anymore to wake you up and force you to go. So you kinda have to make a relationship with God your own and figure out what you actually believe

3. MEET PEOPLE

As a freshman, it’s easy to think that everyone already has friends, when the fact is, nobody really has any friends. Everyone is on the same level. This is probably the one main thing I am going to do better the next two years. It is exceedingly easy to sit back and do nothing, but you’ll have more fun if you go out and meet new people.

4. Get to know your professors

This will probably be on every “how to have success in college” list you will ever see, but if your lazy like me, it is really hard to do. I have learned, though, it really can be to your benefit to go to your professors office hours and see them often (you’ll get better grades most likely)

5. If you are majoring in something you cannot see your self enjoying as a job for the rest of your life, switch

I switched from Electrical Engineering to Business last semester and it was probably one of the best decisions I have made in college. I love computers and stuff, but sheesh I do not love them as much as some other people do that’s for sure.

6. Get a job if you can

As much as I am all for having time to do nothing, I have found myself more-so not wanting to do schoolwork when I have time than when I get home from my job. I guess when you are busier you do better (obviously free time is good too)

7. If the frat life isn’t you, don’t force it

There are plenty of people who belong in fraternities. I personally couldn’t ever really see myself in a frat, and there are plenty others who see the same way as me. Though it is a great way to meet people, if it’s not for you it’s not for you.

Now that you’ve had my little tidbits version of Ned’s Declassified School Survival Guide tips, I want to talk about another topic that is a big thing in college that I kinda harped on earlier, relationships.

Whether it is with a girl or a guy, relationship and friendships are probably the biggest facet of college. There will be people you date and people you become friends with, and not matter what the relationship is, they take work. It’s so easy to do nothing, instead of being proactive and cultivating these types of relationships.

Most of all though, I could say the same thing about my relationship with Christ. It takes work. I struggle at times of being passive and not actively pursuing a relationship with Christ, as well as pursuing all other relationships in my life.

Nevertheless, I have had a great two years, and I hope that the next two will bring even more joy and growth.

//Jesse//

Leave a Reply

