Live like you are dying.

As I look back on the events of the past two week I cannot help but think to myself how much I take for granted.  My grandad, just 73 years young, never thought in a million years that the day he died would be his last.  In an instant, everything material in this world was gone, the only thing left standing, Jesus.

As creatures of this world we are prone to find identity in love, money, and status, when at the end of the day none of those things with continue to exist as we move on to bigger, better life transcendent of this Earth.   Every day I am given 86,400 ticks on the clock, none more, none less.  What do I do with those precious seconds?  Honestly, I waste them.  I walk to class with my headphones in so I don’t have to interact with anyone.  I sit in my room organizing files on my computer just for something to do with my free time.  I worry, I am anxious.  I get so high strung and caught up in the microcosm that is my life that I forget about the life, and death, that truly matters.  Jesus died a gruesome, painful death so that I could have extra time on the clock.

So why waste it?

Instead of walking to class with blinders on I can say hello to someone or possible even give them a smile.  Instead of sitting in my room doing whatever comes to mind, I can go out and enjoy God’s immaculate Creation.  Instead of worrying and being anxious I can put hope in the fact that Jesus will never let me down.  No matter the situation, no matter the mountain to climb, he will always be there.

Way too often I have put my hope in things that ultimately will let me down.  I waste my precious time on things that aren’t so precious. I wish I could tell the future, but sadly I cannot.  So, the most I can do is life like today is my last, and treat every second as if it is a priceless gift given to me by an Almighty King.

Rest easy, Grandad. You will be dearly missed.

//Jesse//

Leave a Reply

