Let the Future Begin.

This weekend I had the most incredible opportunity to attend the Passion Conference down in Houston.  My first impression, having been in that building tens of times for Rockets games, was “wow, this is one of the few times I have seen Toyota Center this crowded” (sorry Rockets).  

As the weekend unfolded I was completely unsure of what to expect.  I knew the lineup of speaker and worship leaders, but I wasn’t sure if I would get bored after hours and hours of worshipping and listening to sermons.  As the Passion Band started us off I knew this was going to be different than just any old church service.  I knew that God would be at work in Houston, TX that weekend and that it would be one to remember.

Probably one of my favorite moments, for whatever reason, was hearing “Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)” sung by Hillsong United on Friday night.  It is such a powerful song and was just a powerful way to end the first night.  It left me wanting more (even though we were completely exhausted by that point).  

After a short (too short) night’s sleep we were up and at em early for Saturday’s events.  I was really struck most probably by Judah Smith’s message that day.  Besides his multiple references to his “World Champion”  Seattle Seahawks he really stressed this idea that when we become Christians we are literally new.  In 2 Corinthians 5:17 Paul writes:

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.

I don’t really know why, but the way he emphasized this made me think of my own life.  When we become Christians we don’t just get a hardware and software upgrade or a refurbishment, to put it in nerdy computer terms, but instead we are bought completely new.  Christ died for not only the sins we’ve committed in the past, but also for every sin we will ever commit. How powerful is it that we have a God who willingly sent His Son to die one of the most horrible, gruesome deaths a human can die, and a Savior Jesus Christ who was willing to bear my sin and accept this horrible death that I should have died? Powerful.

As I look back on this weekend my prayer is that the same passion (no pun intended) and energy for God that I had during those two days I can keep going in my everyday life.  It not every day you get to worship with Chris Tomlin, David Crowder, Kristian Stanfill, Matt Redman, Kari Jobe, and Hillsong United or hear sermons from Francis Chan, Beth Moore, Louie Giglio, or Judah Smith.  But even after I am back at Baylor and out of the bright lights and sounds of Toyota Center I want to have the same fire and motivation to seek Jesus that I did this past weekend.

I want it to affect my relationships, my outlook on life, my view on the world, and want those around me to see the difference.  

This weekend I will never forget and hope, Lord willing, I will be able to make it back for Passion 2015!

//Jesse//

Leave a Reply

