Confident in God’s Plan.

It has been quite a while since I’ve posted, but I just wanted to share something.

I have been doing this research paper for my American Lit class, and I have been dissecting some critical articles of the novel The House of Seven Gables by Nathaniel Hawthorne.  I came across an article about change.  One of the main characters was stuck in the past; believing herself to be someone she used to be.  She was scared to change, because she feared the unknown of the future.

This really got me thinking.  As a Christian, I often have a fear of the future.  Why is this?  I have come to the realization that this fear stems from the fear of losing control.  When we are in control, everything seems comfortable.  Yet, when our life takes an unexpected slide we worry about the what is to come.  

Jeremiah wrote,”For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

I think it is easy to take this verse out of context and think that just because God says he will “prosper” us everything good in the world will happen.  As humans our minds are bound by the restrictions of time and space.  God knows no bounds.  He sees the entire picture at one time.  Something that is used to prosper us may not seem very prosperous to us at the time, but God has got a plan.

My encouragement in this short note is to give up your future to God and trust in the plan He has for your life.  Accept change as it comes, and allow it to shape you into the person God has made you to be.  Being confident in His plan is the first step to live a more fulfilling life without fear of the future.

//Jesse//

Leave a Reply

