Back at it.

Well, ladies and gents, I am officially back in Waco, TX.

It was incredible to, for the first time, get close to a month off for the Christmas holiday.  Much of it was spent, hanging out with friends and family, watching some basketball, and the ever so popular event of eating.

The break also gave me a lot of time to think about my priorities for the upcoming semester.

Throughout most of my life, selfishness has dominated.  I feel like sometimes it slipped my mind that being courteous to people and putting others first can really make an impact not only on my life but also on the lives of those around me. I say “was” very lightly, because still to this day I struggle with putting others first.  That is why is has become a goal of mine to put others first this semester.

I see as this can be done in a multitude of ways.  Sure, holding the door for people is cool, and I’m sure that person appreciates it, but sometimes it takes something deeper than that.  We never know what someone is going through that we see on a day to day basis.  Someone you pass everyday might be encouraged by the smile you give or the warm “hello”.  Yeah it may seem minuscule to us but it could meant the world to them.  

Another way I am going to try to be more unselfish is by the way I study and putting my work before the things that want to do.  

To me, it is more than just studying.  One of my goals forever has been to adequately prepare myself in my education so that when I get out of school I can get a job that will be able to support a wife a subsequently a family later on down the road.  Sadly, that involves giving up a lot of my own time to study and prepare myself for what’s ahead.  The end goal may be a little ways off, but I’ve begun to realize what my determination and diligence now can do for me in the future.

And last, I feel like sometimes I just need to slow down and soak in the incredible awe-inspiring world that we live in, and the Creator of that world. When I look at the big picture, I realize that “my” time is really God’s time.  I’ve begun to realize the significance in my own life of stopping a minute or two, or three, or four to thank God for everything that he has blessed me with, and I do not do it enough.  After all, the greatest example of unselfishness I’ve ever seen is Jesus Christ, God in the flesh.  He gave up his life so that we could have ours. Wow. And I can’t give up even 15 minutes of my day to tell him thanks?

Lately it’s been starting to dawn on me the incredible opportunities that I’ve been given by God and honestly, I don’t want those to go to waste.  

//Jesse//

Leave a Reply

